Schieve Tabarnak!



  • Inspiration: Old Ale
  • Alcohol by Volume: 5.3% alc./vol.

Description

The Schieve Tabarnak! is a light, hazy blonde beer with greenish highlights. Brewed with rye and a selection of atypical hops, which includes Nelson Sauvin for bitterness, it has a very floral scent reminiscent of roses. The taste progresses in three distinct phases. As the beer enters your mouth, you can feel the rye, followed shortly thereafter by the fruit aromas, which culminates in a very long finish, leaving the drinker wanting for more.

The first part of the name stems from a Brussel curse word (Schieven architeckt!, meaning twisted architect). The expression was originally invented by the Marolliens who accused the architect Joseph Polleart of blighting the neighborhood with the construction of the massive town hall. The Quebec curse word of course speaks for itself…

Target Clientele

This beer is the result of a coop project between the Trou du diable and the Brussels-based Brasserie de la Senne in Belgium. It is meant to rekindle noble hops lovers, Belgian-Quebecers as well as aristocrats who are fond of curse words.

 

Skieve Tabarnak Belgique

Awards

2012 World Beer Awards (Royaume-Uni) World’s Best label

Schieve Tabarnak!


  • Alcool: 5.3% alc./vol.
  • Modèle d'inspiration : Bière à l'ancienne

Descriptif

La Schieve Tabarnak! est une bière blonde légère, trouble, aux reflets verdâtres, brassée avec du seigle et une sélection de houblons atypiques, dont du Nelson Sauvin, utilisé en amérisant.  Elle présente un nez très floral qui rappelle la rose. Son palais est construit sur trois étages : une entrée qui rappelle le pain de seigle, une évolution verte et fruitée, puis une finale longue et envahissante qui impose au goûteur de s’y replonger aussitôt.

Le nom tire son origine, d’une part, d’une insulte bruxelloise (schieven architekt ! ou « architecte de travers »), prononcée par les Marolliens à l’encontre de Joseph Poellart, coupable, à leurs yeux, d’avoir défiguré le quartier avec la construction de son colossale Palais de Justice et, d’autre part, d’un juron québécois qui ne nécessite aucune présentation.

Clientèle cible

Cette bière est née d’une collaboration entre Le Trou du diable et la Brasserie de la Senne, sise à Bruxelles, en Belgique.  Elle ravira tous les amateurs d’amertume noble, les belgo-québécois tout autant que les aristocrates qui affectionnent l’insulte.

 

Skieve Tabarnak Belgique

Récompenses

2012 World Beer Awards (Royaume-Uni) World’s Best Label